Friday, October 3, 2008

Will Someone Please Drive a Stake Through My Heart?


I just finished the 4th book in the Twilight series. That is 2500+ pages of time I will never get back. Not to mention dreaming I had a vampire baby in me the other night. And when you're pregnant, it's not the nicest dream.


Did you know that there are people (cough* women *cough) that vacation to the real town in this FICTIONAL story? I'm dying over here. Like I said to a couple of my friends that are not fans either: "This is the most passionately I've hated anything in a LONG time". But I continued to read, because it is not my nature to give up on something so easily. I will watch a movie till the bitter end, because I have to give it a chance to redeem itself. Most of the time, that works for me. I'm just not one to shut a movie or close a book halfway through. I've invested the hour and a half, or in a book's case 5 or 6 hours, and I have to finish. I read the first book. I liked the idea of the couple, I HATED the girl. HATED HER. Never hated any character EVER as much as her. I thought, well, let's just see where this goes. Nothing happened in the 2nd book. There was another 5 or 6 hours wasted....3rd book? Stuff happens, but I just don't care. By then, there's no way I can stop. 4th book was totally different. Totally crazy. Sort of horror-filmish. Holy crap. But I did my time, and I finished them all. I'm embarrassed to say I did.


Arianne sent me a link to another woman's take on Twilight. It is hilarious. Unless you are a die hard fan, and then you will be mad....(Oh, and good luck finishing now Arianne...)




I full on expect this post to receive hate comments. I thoroughly don't care.

24 comments:

Kacy said...

You crack me up!

Brenda said...

You kill me! And it cracks me up to think that people actually go to Forks. I'm from a small town in Washington. Trust me, there's nothing to see there. I heard that a family came all the way from Australia. Seriously? Go to New York, Disneyland, The Grand Canyon. Don't come to the U.S. and go to Forks. I do like the books but stupidity like that infuriates me. I'm done now.

tim and brandi said...

Here's my hate comment. You SHOULD be embarrassed. Embarrassed that you even started reading such crap. I really thought you were so much better than that. Oh well, maybe, just maybe you learned your lesson?

~b

Jen said...

I knew there had to be some reason I liked you other then you are my sister-in-law. It's like you read my mind. I'll never say anything bad about you again :)

Cheeseboy said...

Thank you for having the courage to read the book and then take a stand against that putrid crap that you just read.

Liz said...

Amen, I hated the last book especially. Bella was so whiny I wanted to slap her half the time.

pdholgreen said...

Hi Cara! This is Danielle Holgreen. I used to live by you on Sparrowhawk Way. I was so surprised to come across your blog. Preston and I always say we're going to have a little Cameron and Eamon. Because they're crazy but cute as heck. Glad to see you guys are doing well, and I agree with you about the vampire books. Lame. Our blog is pdholgreen.blogspot.com Bye!

dayna said...

wow, i am so on the same page. i have been a closet twilight hater..tried the first book and just couldn't take it anymore after page 300. hated bella. blah. i have been afraid to comment on it to anyone because most all of my friends keep telling me how amazingly awesome it is. they even had a party with "bellasagna" "bear claws" and "grandma swan's stroganoff" to eat. sheesh! you've given me the courage to stand up for my opinion:)

pdholgreen said...

We live in good ol' Beaver Utah (where I grew up). Brax is almost 3 and Mason is 5 months. Cameron's got to be getting up there, 7 or 8? How old is Eamon? I looked back at a bunch of archives of your fam. You're so cute! Cameron was always my favorite talkey talkey CTR5 kid.

Hillary Hall said...

Cara -
Thanks for posting a bold opinion. I haven't read the fourth book. I didn't totally hate the books, it's just that there are so many REALLY GOOD books out there that don't get this attention. These ones are just ok. I have always enjoyed reading, and I was given the first book as a gift, so I didn't have any reason to NOT read it. I had such a high expectation from all of the hoopla that it kind of ruined it for me. I borrowed the next two and they were just ok. I can see why it is YOUNG ADULT FICTION. It didn't make me a better person to read it, it didn't make me stop and think about my place in the universe. They were just ok.
I know that some ladies are now more avid readers because they started reading the Twilight series. As long as they are not wasting their time on mindless gunk, I think that is a positive. So I don't *HATE* the Twilight series just because it is popular, nor do I *LOVE* it for the same reason. I am just in awe of the crazy buzz that has surrounded this whole thing.
PS - got half way through The Host, and can't seem to finish it.

BulldogMama said...

Okay, my good friend is reading it right now and says she is so into it she can't put it down. Hmmmmmmmm I'm a fast reader and I like unusual stories but I'm kind of leery of it or anything that is popular "just because". Was this on the Opera book list or something??? Cara you don't have to be politically correct about a book review, you nut!! (hahaha) This IS America the land of the opinionated and God bless you for your honesty!!

Yankee Doodle Adele

Blessings From Above said...

Last night I bought the first book in the series because I had been hearing so many fabulous things about Twilight. Vampires are not my thing, but I had not heard a bad thing about the book...until now! Maybe I should of went with my gut feeling and passed?

Ashley said...

OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH....
I think one of your readers hit it on the head and yet, she had it all wrong.........

It is REALLY sad that people are reading this MINDLESS GUNK!!! :-}

Do you know what I mean about the last book and making a movie? It will be 2 hours of *banging* in the bedroom and then 15 minutes of the final battle!

Oh, that women are falling over all this is just so sad and wrong...

I'm done now too.

The Roaming Southerner said...

I read them and was okay with them. I liked to talk about the ridiculousness of them more than anything. I liked Edward's character but totally agree that Bella left something to be desired. She is whiney. It is not great story telling or rivoting plot...but it is better than the Hils, right?

I did not feel as passionately against her as you do, but I wasn't in love...with her or the book. But I read it and that is all I can say about that.

Auds at Barking Mad said...

This is too funny. I am a DIE HARD vampire fan, mostly in the vein of Anne Rice and Stephen King...but I had to read these books. They're ok for the "tween and teen" set, but nothing more than that. I was HUGELY disappointed when I saw how they cast the movie. Edward is being played by the same Brit who played Cedric Diggory in the Harry Potter movies and looks NOTHING like EC as the book described him. But then, this is Hollyweird we are talking about. I shouldn't be surprised. I'll wait for the DVD, thanks.

anti-supermom said...

I love it when I can passionately hate something. It really feels good to have that passion :)

So funny, I have yet to read the series, but so many people have blogged about it the thought has crossed my mind, then I try to remember that I'm not a high schooler~

Great post, happy POW!

McMommy said...

I've heard about these books...thank you for saving me from wasting my time. See? POW really is good for something.

Omgirl said...

I just finished it. See my blog. I actually liked the last one! But I really didnt' like # 2 and #. And I'm glad to have my life back now.

Craig and Brittney said...

Twlight sucks, you have my vote. PS why do you hate to walk?

emilymomto3boys said...

LOL! I loved them. But not freaky-vacation-in-the-town kind of love.

But if it ain't your thing, it ain't your thing!

Sum Sum said...

So I agree to every reason you mentioned and I still LOVE, LOVE, LOVED them...especially the last one. Not only am I a huge romantic sap, but as long as I am entertained and get some emotion out of what I'm reading..umm yes to wanting to slap Bella silly & secretly..ok I admit it...fall in love with Edward (embarrassing I know)-then it was a good read for me! Sad for the single women out there--because I don't think men like him exist!!

Christine said...

I really don't know if we can be friends anymore. :)

Elizabeth said...

love this...i know, you posted this a while ago but i found your c-card on mcmommy and had to pop over. i was one of the weird ones who thought the writing sucked (and it seriously did) but enjoyed the story it told and watched the movie...and along with all the cheesiness enjoyed it...and then, never thought about it again...no passion, no obsession, and was so glad it was over. when my friend was still crazy a week, 2 wks, a month later i said, "twilight? really?" and when i started a new "series" historicals with philippa gregory i then wished even more than i'd never wasted my time b/c the real writing and real stories made twilight seem so insignificant...though, i must admit, i got wrapped up in it for a few precious moments that i wish i could take back...

Anonymous said...

I found this site using [url=http://google.com]google.com[/url] And i want to thank you for your work. You have done really very good site. Great work, great site! Thank you!

Sorry for offtopic